Qu'est-ce que l'azithromycine

When I had pneumonia, my doctor prescribed me to take Azitromycin. I always take antibiotics carefully. Before taking it, I have conducted my own research. I have found all the necessary information about its action and effects. Keep on reading to find out how this medicine works and what exactly it does.

Les macrolides, avec les bêta-lactamines et les fluoroquinolones, demeurent l'un des antibiotiques les plus fréquemment prescrits en pratique externe. Tout d'abord, ils sont prescrits pour le traitement des infections respiratoires bactériennes d'origine communautaire, en raison d'un certain nombre de leurs caractéristiques cliniques et pharmacologiques, tout d'abord, leur activité contre la majorité des pathogènes respiratoires, y compris les pathogènes "atypiques", leur bonne tolérance et la présence de propriétés spéciales non antimicrobiennes qui ne sont caractéristiques que des médicaments de cette classe.

Le premier représentant des macrolides est l'érythromycine, créée en 1952. Le terme "nouveaux macrolides" a été utilisé au début des années 1990, après l'introduction dans la pratique clinique de médicaments tels que l'azithromycine et la clarithromycine. Une étape importante dans l'histoire de cette classe d'antibiotiques a été l'apparition de l'azithromycine en 1988, qui est associée à plusieurs de ses propriétés pharmacocinétiques et pharmacodynamiques uniques.

Pharmacologie clinique de l'azithromycine

L'azithromycine est un antibiotique semi-synthétique, le premier représentant de la sous-classe des azalides, dont la structure diffère quelque peu des macrolides classiques. Obtenu par incorporation d'un atome d'azote dans un cycle lactone à 14 chaînons ayant entre 9 et 10 atomes de carbone. L'anneau se transforme en un anneau de 15 atomes, cessant d'être du lactone. Cette restructuration entraîne une augmentation significative de la résistance aux acides du médicament - 300 fois par rapport à l'érythromycine.

In addition to increased resistance to the action of hydrochloric acid, azithromycin, compared with erythromycin, has improved pharmacokinetic properties and a wider range of antimicrobial activity. In particular, azithromycin, to a greater extent than erythromycin, is able to penetrate the cell wall of gram-negative microorganisms and show more pronounced activity against H. influenzae, and also act on some members of the Eterobacteriaceae family.

Le mécanisme d'action de l'azithromycine est semblable à celui d'autres antibiotiques macrolides. Le point principal de l'application est la sous-unité 50S du ribosome, en interaction avec laquelle les macrolides violent la synthèse protéique médiée par l'ARNm. Les macrolides ont un effet bactériostatique, mais dans certaines conditions ils peuvent avoir un effet bactéricide sur certains micro-organismes. Cette propriété est plus prononcée dans l'azithromycine en créant des concentrations intracellulaires plus élevées.

Problèmes de spectre d'activité et de résistance

  • Cocci Gram positif. L'azithromycine est 2 à 4 fois moins efficace que l'érythromycine in vitro contre les staphylocoques et les streptocoques, notamment S. pneumoniae, S. pyogenes et les souches sensibles à la méthicilline de S. aureus. Les streptocoques et les staphylocoques résistants à l'érythromycine sont résistants à l'azithromycine. L'azithromycine, tout comme l'érythromycine, n'a pratiquement aucun effet sur la plupart des souches d'entérocoques.
  • Cocci Gram négatif. L'azithromycine est significativement supérieure à l'érythromycine dans les effets sur N. gonorrhoeae et M. catarrhalis.
  • Bâtonnets Gram-négatifs. L'azithromycine est la plus active des macrolides contre H. lnfluenzae, y compris les souches productrices de bêta-lactamase. Il est 2 à 8 fois plus efficace que l'érythromycine en termes d'efficacité contre cet agent pathogène.

Par rapport à l'érythromycine, l'azithromycine a un effet légèrement meilleur sur Legionella spp ; H. ducreyi, Campylobacter spp, E. corrodens et P. multocida, et son activité contre B. rertussis est identique à celle de l'érythromycine. L'azithromycine est supérieure à la clarithromycine en activité contre Bartonella spp. qui joue un rôle étiologique dans les maladies des griffures de chat et l'angiomatose bacillaire.

Une caractéristique unique de l'azithromycine est que, contrairement à l'érythromycine et à d'autres macrolides, elle peut agir in vitro sur des membres individuels de la famille des Enterobacteriaceae, comme E. coli, shigella et, dans une moindre mesure, salmonella. Aux Pseudomonas spp. insensibles à l'azithromycine et aux Acinetobacter spp.

  • Chlamydia, mycoplasmes. Par activité contre les chlamydia, les mycoplasmes et les uréaplasmes, il n'y a presque aucune différence entre l'azithromycine et l'érythromycine.
  • Spirochètes. L'azithromycine, dans une plus grande mesure que l'érythromycine, est active contre B. burgdorferi, qui cause la maladie de Lyme. Selon l'effet sur T. pallidum, les deux antibiotiques sont presque équivalents.
  • Rickettsia. Azithromycin is superior to clarithromycin in activity against C. burnetii – rickettsia causing atypical pneumonia.
  • Mycobactéries atypiques. Outre la clarithromycine, l'azithromycine agit sur le complexe intracellulaire de M. avium, naturellement résistant à l'érythromycine.
  • Le plus simple. Contrairement à l'érythromycine, l'azithromycine est active contre T. gondii et agit également sur les kystes. Des études expérimentales ont révélé que l'azithromycine agit sur Cryptosporidium spp.

Utilisation clinique de l'azithromycine

L'azithromycine est largement utilisée chez les adultes et les enfants. Le plus souvent, il est utilisé dans les infections des voies respiratoires supérieures et inférieures, les infections urogénitales, chez les patients atteints du SIDA. Les caractéristiques pharmacocinétiques du médicament peuvent être appliquées une fois par jour, ce qui assure une grande observance du traitement. En cas d'infections respiratoires et cutanées du même degré, l'effet thérapeutique est obtenu lorsqu'un antibiotique est prescrit en cinq ou trois jours.

La capacité de l'azithromycine à créer des concentrations élevées et stables dans les tissus et les sécrétions des organes reproducteurs, ainsi que sa forte activité contre les principaux pathogènes des infections urogénitales, permettent de prescrire le médicament aux patients présentant cette pathologie une seule fois. Il existe des rapports sur l'utilisation de l'azithromycine dans la borréliose et les infections indigènes. Chez les patients atteints du sida, un antibiotique peut être utilisé pour prévenir les infections opportunistes disséminées causées par le complexe intracellulaire de M. avium. Il existe des informations sur la possibilité d'utiliser l'azithromycine pour la prévention du paludisme.

L'utilisation de l'azithromycine peut simplifier considérablement le traitement des infections, améliorer l'observance et, par conséquent, augmenter l'efficacité de l'antibiothérapie.

Cet article vous a-t-il été utile ?
OuiNon

What Is Azithromycin

When I had pneumonia, my doctor prescribed me to take Azitromycin. I always take antibiotics carefully. Before taking it, I have conducted my own research. I have found all the necessary information about its action and effects. Keep on reading to find out how this medicine works and what exactly it does.

Macrolides, along with beta-lactams and fluoroquinolones, still remain one of the most frequently prescribed antibiotics in outpatient practice. First of all, they are prescribed for the treatment of community-acquired bacterial respiratory infections, due to a number of their clinical and pharmacological features, first of all, activity against the majority of respiratory pathogens, including “atypical” pathogens, good tolerance and the presence of special non-antimicrobial properties that are characteristic only for drugs this class.

The first representative of macrolides is erythromycin, created back in 1952. The term “new macrolides” was used in the early 1990s. after the introduction into clinical practice of drugs such as azithromycin and clarithromycin. An important milestone in the history of this class of antibiotics was the appearance of Azithromycin in 1988, which is associated with a number of its unique pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic properties.

Clinical Pharmacology of Azithromycin

Azithromycin is a semisynthetic antibiotic, the first representative of the subclass of azalides, somewhat different in structure from the classical macrolides. Obtained by incorporating a nitrogen atom into a 14-membered lactone ring between 9 and 10 carbon atoms. The ring turns into a 15-atomic one, ceasing to be lactone. This restructuring causes a significant increase in the acid resistance of the drug – 300 times compared with erythromycin.

In addition to increased resistance to the action of hydrochloric acid, azithromycin, compared with erythromycin, has improved pharmacokinetic properties and a wider range of antimicrobial activity. In particular, azithromycin, to a greater extent than erythromycin, is able to penetrate the cell wall of gram-negative microorganisms and show more pronounced activity against H. influenzae, and also act on some members of the Еterobacteriaceae family.

The mechanism of action of azithromycin is similar to other macrolide antibiotics. The main point of the application is the 50S-subunit of the ribosome, interacting with which the macrolides violate protein synthesis mediated by mRNA. Macrolides have a bacteriostatic effect, but under certain conditions they can show a bactericidal effect on certain microorganisms. This property is most pronounced in azithromycin by creating higher intracellular concentrations.

Activity Spectrum and Resistance Problems

  • Gram positive cocci. Azithromycin is 2-4 times lower than erythromycin in vitro activity against staphylococci and streptococci, including S. pneumoniae, S. pyogenes and methicillin-sensitive strains of S. aureus. Streptococci and staphylococci resistant to erythromycin are resistant to azithromycin. Azithromycin, as well as erythromycin, has virtually no effect on most strains of enterococcus.
  • Gram-negative cocci. Azithromycin is significantly superior to erythromycin in the effects on N. gonorrhoeae and M. catarrhalis.
  • Gram-negative sticks. Azithromycin is the most active among macrolides against H. lnfluenzae, including beta-lactamase-producing strains. It is 2–8 times more effective than erythromycin in terms of effectiveness against this pathogen.

Compared with erythromycin, azithromycin has a slightly better effect on Legionella spp; H. ducreyi, Campylobacter spp., E. corrodens and P. multocida, and its activity against B. rertussis is the same as that of erythromycin. Azithromycin is superior to clarithromycin in activity against Bartonella spp., Which play an etiological role in cat scratch disease and bacillary angiomatosis.

A unique feature of azithromycin is that, unlike erythromycin and other macrolides, it is able to act in vitro on individual members of the Enterobacteriaceae family, such as E. coli, shigella and, to a lesser extent, salmonella. To azithromycin insensitive Pseudomonas spp. and Acinetobacter spp.

  • Chlamydia, mycoplasma. By activity against chlamydia, mycoplasmas and ureaplasmas, there is almost no difference between azithromycin and erythromycin.
  • Spirochetes. Azithromycin, to a greater extent than erythromycin, is active against B. burgdorferi, which cause Lyme disease. According to the effect on T. pallidum, both antibiotics are almost equivalent.
  • Rickettsia. Azithromycin is superior to clarithromycin in activity against C. burnetii – rickettsia causing atypical pneumonia.
  • Atypical mycobacteria. As well as clarithromycin, azithromycin acts on the intracellular complex of M. avium, which is naturally resistant to erythromycin.
  • The simplest. Unlike erythromycin, azithromycin is active against T. gondii, and also acts on cysts. In experimental studies revealed that azithromycin acts on Cryptosporidium spp.

Clinical Use of Azithromycin

Azithromycin is widely used in both adults and children. Most often it is used in infections of the upper and lower respiratory tract, urogenital infections, in patients with AIDS. Features of the pharmacokinetics of the drug can be applied once a day, which ensures high compliance of treatment. In case of respiratory and skin infections of the same degree, the therapeutic effect is achieved when an antibiotic is prescribed in either a five- or three-day course.

The ability of Azithromycin to create high and stable concentrations in the tissues and secretions of the reproductive organs, as well as its high activity against the main pathogens of urogenital infections, make it possible to prescribe the drug to patients with this pathology once. There are reports on the use of azithromycin in borreliosis and native infections. In AIDS patients, an antibiotic can be used to prevent disseminated opportunistic infections caused by the M. avium intracellular complex. There is information about the possibility of using azithromycin for the prevention of malaria.

The use of Azithromycin can significantly simplify the treatment of infections, improve compliance and, thereby, increase the effectiveness of antibiotic therapy.

Was this article helpful?
YesNo